Nurse's Corner

Linda Powers, R.N.

Phone 860-769-6600 Ext. 3122
Fax 860-769-6605


Physical Requirements: Prior to 7th and 10th Grade

A reminder that Connecticut State Law requires all school children to have periodic physical examinations and to be properly immunized against certain diseases. This law states that all children in grade 6 must have a physical before entry to grade 7 and all children in grade 9 must have a physical before entry to grade 10.

  • Physicals completed after the end of 5th grade and prior to the start of 7th grade are acceptable.
  • Physicals completed after the end of 8th grade and prior to the start of 10th grade are acceptable.

Parents need to complete page 1 of the blue State of Connecticut Health Assessment Record and your child’s physician needs to complete page 2 and 3. The completed form needs to be turned in to the school nurse. Additional forms may be obtained from the school nurse website under forms and downloads.

Any student who has not submitted the required physical will be excluded from entering school in the fall until this requirement is satisfied.

Sports Physical Examination Requirements:

Bloomfield policy and CIAC regulations state that a sports physical must be done within 13 months of initially playing a sport.  Sports physicals must be updated annually, not to exceed 13 months between physicals.  

Note-A school physical on the blue form is acceptable to meet the sports physical requirement, but the sports physical form cannot be used as the State required school physical.  

Mandated Screenings: The following mandated screenings will be completed by the school nurse sometime during the school year.

  • Scoliosis (Postural) Screening- 7th Grade Girls and 8th Grade Boys

A letter will be sent home notifying you if follow-up is needed.

Stay at Home Guidelines
Deciding when a child is too sick to go to school can be a difficult decision for parents to make. When trying to decide, use the guidelines below and seek the advice of your health care provider. Please do not send your ill or injured child to school and ask the nurse to “check him/her out”. Please have a thermometer and check your child’s temperature at home. If you think your child needs assessment, contact his/her health care provider.

  1. If your child has a temperature over 100 degrees he/she must stay home. Your child cannot return to school the next day and should remain at home until the fever has been gone for at least 24 hours without medication.
  2. If your child has diarrhea, he/she should stay home until the diarrhea has passed.
  3. If your child vomited during the night, he/she should stay home the following day and until there is no vomiting for 24 hours and they are able to tolerate a meal.
  4. If your child woke up with one or both eyes red, sealed with discharge, and/or is itchy or painful, he/she should stay home and be seen by their health care provider. If prescribed an antibiotic eye drop, he/she may return after 24 hours of use.
  5. If your child is complaining of severe sore throat they should stay home and be seen by their health care provider. If an antibiotic is prescribed, he/she may return after 24 hours of use.
  6. If your child has severe cold symptoms with thick discharge, especially green discharge, from the nose or has a wheezing, croupy cough they should stay home.
  7. If your child has an unknown rash he/she should stay home and be evaluated by their health care provider. If prescribed an antibiotic they may return after 24 hours of use. Please cover any open or oozing sores.

In the event that your child does have a fever over 100 degrees, if they are exhibiting negative changes in behavior, temperament, or classroom performance due to various health concerns (i.e. fatigue, colds, constipation, etc.) you may be called to pick up your child.

Please consider the health of your child and the other children in the class and follow these guidelines before sending your child back to school. Keep these guidelines handy in order to determine when your child can come back to school after being ill. Please contact your school nurse with any questions.

Recovery time is shorter with a sick child who is given plenty of rest. Thank you for helping us to maintain a healthy and happy school environment for all of our students!



Medications at School

State Law says that NO medication may be taken at school without a doctor’s order and parent signature. That includes over-the-counter medicines that we pick up at the local pharmacy or grocery store.

Tylenol, Tums, and Advil – we have a standing order from our school doctor.

That takes care of the doctor order but we still need the parent’s signature. Forms can be picked up in the nurse’s office and when signed by a parent, the child can have these medications when needed.

Tylenol can be given to both boys and girls for headaches or general discomfort but the Advil can only be given to the girls specifically for menstrual cramps. That is how our doctor’s orders are written and we are bound by that restriction. Medications are dispensed from the nurse’s supply. No medication will be given out if the authorization is not signed by the parent. Phone authorization is not accepted.

Prescription medications and any over the counter medications that your personal doctor wants the student to receive, must have a signed medication order, signed by both doctor and parent, and on file in the nurse’s office.

Suggestion: Kids with braces or any extreme dental work might benefit by getting a medication order for discomfort from your dentist or orthodontist. Each time that the braces are tightened, the next day is usually a bit uncomfortable.

Remember – no Midol, no cold medicines, no allergy meds, no any kind of medication, no matter how simple or common may be taken without a doctor’s order.

Please see the Forms and Downloads for the medication authorization form



Notice: Flu Season and Flu Shots

The ideal time to get a flu shot is in the late fall but if you’ve avoided the flu so far, getting one in January or February is OK too. It takes about two weeks for the body to create the immune properties that will help the body reject the flu.

Can you get the flu FROM the flu shot? – NO – it is a dead virus.

Can you get the flu after getting the shot? – yes it’s possible, but a MUCH milder case.

Who should get the flu shot? Well, ideally, everyone. But some folks are allergic to the egg that the flu serum is grown in. Anyone allergic to eggs should avoid the flu shot.

The flu can be deadly to certain groups of people. The very, very young, ages 6 to 23 months and folks who are 65 years or older are more vulnerable to the flu. Adults and children with chronic health conditions – heart disease, diabetes, kidney disease, asthma, cancers, and other chronic disorders are at greater risk when the flu hits. It’s also important that the caregivers of the “at risk” people are immunized as well.

The more people who get the flu shot leaves fewer people to get the flu and pass it around. It’s a responsible action to take for yourself and for your community.

How to Prevent the flu

  • Clean your hands – hand washing is a #1 disease inhibitor
  • Avoid close contact – with people who are sick. When you are sick, keep your distance from others.
  • Stay home when you are sick
  • Cover your mouth and nose – with a tissue, or if none is available at the moment, into the crook of your elbow (not your hands)
  • Avoid touching your eyes, nose or mouth – each of these sites are a great portal of entry for germs
  • Stay physically fit – get plenty of sleep, be physically active, manage stress, drink water, and eat good food.


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.